Selected Events


JANUARY 11, 2019
World Premiere of wind ensemble version of PRISMS OF LIGHT, HEMKE CONCERTO originally composed for saxophone and orchestra. Taimur Sullivan, Saxophone and the Navy Band present this premiere at the International Saxophone Symposium at George Mason University's Center for the Arts Concert Hall in Fairfax, Virginia.

FEBRUARY 1, 2019
BRIO for orchestra performed at the Eastman School of Music Philharmonia Orchestra, Brad Lubman, conducting.

FEBRUARY 7, 2019
World Premiere of the soprano saxophone version of DANCING HELIX RITUALS performed by Erik Rohde, violin, Paul Bro soprano saxophone, Martha Krasnican, piano in Boyce Recital Hall, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, Indiana.

FEBRUARY 19, 2019
OF PARADISE AND LIGHT for string orchestra and PRAYER AND CELEBRATION for orchestra performed by The University of Wisconsin- Madison Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Chad Hutchinson.

FEBRUARY 19, 2019
Guest composer at The University of Wisconsin-Madison.

FEBRUARY 21, 2019
PRAYER AND CELEBRATION for orchestra as performed by the Springfield Symphony Orchestra, Kevin Rhodes, conducting.

FEBRUARY 24, 2019
U.K. PREMIERE of CHI for string quartet performed by the Ligeti Quartet at the London Festival of American Music.

MARCH 12-17, 2019
VIOLIN CONCERTO #4 Janet Sung soloist, New Haven Symphony Orchestra, William Boughton conducting.

MARCH 19-23, 2019
Augusta is the 2018-2019 Composer-in-Residence at The Curtis Institute of Music. Selected works will be performed including SELENE (Moon Chariot Rituals) for percussion quartet and string quartet, CAPRICCI (Hummingbird Romance) for flute and clarinet, KLEE MUSINGS for piano trio, TWO THOUGHTS ABOUT THE PIANO, DOUBLE HELIX for two violins, SCAT for ensemble, HELIX SPIRALS for string quartet, and PLEA FOR PEACE for soprano and string quartet. Earlier in the season, the orchestra played BRIO for orchestra.

MARCH 22, 2019
Guest composer at Temple University, Philadelphia, PA.

May 19, 2019
World Premiere of NEW WORK for ensemble premiered by the Nova Ensemble, Thierry Fischer, conducting. Co-commissioned by the Nova Chamber Music Series with thanks to Artistic Director Jason Hardink and by Sounds of Science Commissioning Club with thanks to President Glenn D. Prestwich.

May 11, 2019
RADIANT CIRCLES for orchestra performed University of BBC Symphony Orchestra, Joana Carneiro, Conducting, London.

Nicole Paris. Photo by Elizabeth Wiseman

October 25, 2019
World Premiere of SWEET POTATO KICKS THE SUN by Santa Fe Opera. The opera is commissioned by a consortium of opera companies, led by Santa Fe Opera in association with San Francisco opera, that includes: • Lyric Opera Of Kansas City • Minnesota Opera • Opera Theatre of Saint Louis •San Francisco Opera • Santa Fe Opera • Sarasota Opera • Seattle Opera. This project is made possible by generous funding from the Melville Hankins Family Foundation and The Andrew Mellon Foundation.

NOVEMBER 14, 2019
World Premiere of a NEW BALLET commissioned by PEAK Performances at Montclair State University in New Jersey, Jedediah Wheeler, Executive Director. Performed by Martha Graham Dance Company, Janet Eiber, Artistic Director, Troy Schumacher Choreographer, and the ICE Ensemble.

2019/2020 SEASON
SELENE (Moon Chariot Rituals) for percussion quartet and string quartet and OF BEING IS A BIRD (Emily Dickinson Settings) for soprano and chamber orchestra performed at the Southbank Centre in London during the 19/20 season, as part of the Philharmonia Orchestra's 'Music of Today' series which Unsuk Chin is curating.